Frequently Asked Questions

Who are you? What is this? And why?

We are a bunch of techies, restaurateurs, and food lovers who enjoy dining at different restaurants. We were fed up of seeing our favourite restaurants (including some of our own!) struggling to offer good service by not operating at optimal efficiency. Precious human resources are deployed for mundane tasks that technology can do much better. Some very fine restaurateurs also struggle with staffing given high wages, training costs, and economic uncertainties. Obviously we were having none of it and we decided to do something to solve this.

Thus Oodle was born, designed to be useful to both restaurant goers and restaurateurs. When you dine at your favourite restaurant, you should enjoy the food and experience, and not have to wait to catch the waiter's attention to order or to pay the bill. The menu should be fun and informative, especially if you have special dietary requirements. And restaurateurs should find it easy to have an online presence complete with a mobile app without having to spend a fortune.

How are you different from the hundreds of food ordering apps out there?

Most other food ordering apps focus on home delivery, which means they are in the business of transport and not food. We on the other hand, actually own restaurants, so we understand the food business very well. As the others focus only on delivery, their apps feature a simple menu with mostly text and not much information either.

Our app has unique features you won't find in other apps like Allergy/Dietary Profile (you don't have to worry about consuming something not suited for your diet), and a beautiful and easy to use "Rolodex" menu that shows you photos of the dishes you are ordering. We are in a unique position to have an insight into the areas of concern of both customers and restaurateurs.

But I want to speak to a human, and you are spoiling the experience for me!

We do understand that Oodle may not be meant for everyone, and there will always be customers who prefer the traditional approach. For them, we would like to assure that Oodle is not a replacement for waiters, and they will always be around to help. Oodle only aims to redeploy staff more efficiently where they are required most. Times are changing and costs are increasing, and many restaurants find it hard to operate profitably even though they are popular. We hate as much as anyone else to see a good restaurant closing down so Oodle is our small effort to help restaurateurs manage their costs.

Please do try us once!

Will I pay more if I use Oodle?

No, you will pay the same price as a walk-in customer. We actually encourage our Restaurant Partners to offer incentives for our users, so do watch out for special offers! There are no hidden charges or extra fees for using the Oodle app. We charge our Restaurant Partners a small fixed monthly fee to operate our service.

Ok, so how do I sign up?

You can sign up using your Facebook or Instagram account. Or you can use your email after verification.

How do I order?

  • After you install Oodle on your mobile, we recommend you sign up where, as a one time process you can specify your kind of diet/allergies (Vegan, Halal, Nut allergy) and you can set up a payment card.
  • On the home screen, you can see all participating restaurants (our Restaurant Partners) in your area (please keep your location services turned on).
  • Click on a restaurant to see the menu. Rather than a boring menu with lots of words, you will see a "Rolodex" of photos of dishes, with each dish clearly marked if it is unsuitable for your diet.
  • Double-tap on a dish to add it to your order.
  • When you are ready to order, simply go to your order, check, and tap on "Place Order"

    How do I pay?

    Set up your payment cards once (we store it securely, and we can't see your card details) in your profile. When you confirm and place your order, payment will be automatically taken from the primary payment card, which means you don't have to enter your card verification details every time.

    Can I tip the waiter?

    Of course! We are working on this feature but for now we encourage you to tip your hard working waiter in cash for their good service.

    How do I ask for a refund?

    We are sorry if something didn't work for you. Please email us on [email protected] with your order details, and will process your refund at the earliest according to our terms. We will use this as a learning experience to improve our services in the future

    I installed the app but can't see any restaurants!

    Oodle needs your permission to use your current location in order to show you participating restaurants around you. Please make sure you have granted this permission by going to phone "Settings". It may also so happen that we are not in your area yet, so are unable to show you any restaurants. Please email us at [email protected] and tell us which area you would like to see us in next!

    I have a suggestion/idea/feedback

    We would love to hear from you! Please write to us at [email protected]